sigur rós consists of jónsi birgisson (vocals, guitars), orri páll dýrason (drums) and goggi holm (bass). the band was joined by kjartan sveinsson on keyboards in 1998, recording five albums with the band.

as of 2012 sigur ros have released six albums, plus one remix album (von brigði – recycle bin). the first album, recently given a worldwide release for the first time, is called von (hope). frequently unrecognisable from the bulk of their subsequent work, von is an experimental and ambient work.